Lake Frederick Inn 99 High Street, OATLANDS TAS 7120
First noted on the original Town Plan of 1832, this property now consists of approx. 1¾ acres of land between the High St and the Lake Dulverton Esplanade. The land was granted to former convict George Aitcheson, a stonemason, who built the Lake Frederick Inn on the site in 1833 to service coaches and travellers on the Main Road from Hobart Town to Launceston, and for the patronage of local landowners and the military.
The inn was one of eight built in the town and remained a hostelry until 1882. In the early 20th century it was bought by a local family and was used as a private home until 1975, from when it was put to a variety of commercial uses before the current owners purchased the property in 2003.
The new owners applied their heritage, history and design qualifications and skills to restore the buildings to demonstrate the significant features of a colonial coaching inn, and to landscape the grounds while also interpreting their original use. As you will see, the result is truly impressive!
Now a stunning residence, the main building offers 3 large bedrooms (main with walk-in robe and en suite); an office / 4th bedroom; and a gorgeous main bathroom all located on the upper level: while the downstairs has 2 sitting rooms; a formal dining room; a breakfast room; fabulous kitchen and a full-length sunroom overlooking the formal gardens. A cellar is accessed by stone-cut stairs from the sunroom.
The restoration acknowledges the need for modern living. Off-peak electric storage heaters and good insulation make use of the seven fireplaces (2 Jetmasters, 1 Saxon and the rest open) optional in keeping the home warm in winter. The kitchen and laundry are well-equipped with modern conveniences and the house is connected to the NBN.
Close to the house, the coach house/stable has been restored (literally stone by stone) and is now an impressive garage. The original well has been excavated and recapped and a beautiful fountain has been set into the gardens. A small weatherboard shop (built c1870) has been relocated to the grounds and restored as a (wifi enabled) writers retreat.
A grand home, in a gorgeous village, surrounded by stunning countryside in the heart of Tasmania; or, a commercial opportunity in a much-lauded tourist town (with the famous Callington Mill next door). The village offers residents and visitors a 24hr Medical Centre, an IGA supermarket, a district school, 9-hole golf course, post office, cafes and much more. Hobart is approx. an hours drive away, Launceston a little more.